Search using this query type:

Search only these record types:

Advanced Search (Items only)

Wooster Digital History Project

Home > About Us

About Us

Welcome to the Wooster Digital History Project at! This site is a project of the Department of History at the College of Wooster - made possible by a grant from the Mellon Foundation - with lots of help from friends and experts in Wooster and beyond. This site is an ongoing project. Our hope over the next several years is to add additional resources.

If you have suggestions for the site (or corrections, or stories to share, or comments), please email to,, or

Summer 2017 Research Team

Rachel Tomei: Class of 2020, Global & International Studies major

Thuy "Tammy" Dinh: Class of 2020, History & Computer Science double major

Eleanor Barker: Class of 2019, History major

Shelley Grostefon: Class of 2018, History & French double major

Past Student Researchers

Elisabeth Abell: Class of 2015, History & French double major

Brandon Bell: Class of 2018, History & Geology double major

Anna Claspy: Class of 2016, History major

Shannon Dade: Class of 2015, History & Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies double major

Colleen Gilfether: Class of 2018, History & Philosophy double major

Jacob Hailperin-Lausch: Class of 2017, History major

Nicolaus Hajek: Class of 2016, History major

Jacob Kowall: Class of 2017, History & English double major

Scott McLellan: Class of 2015, Women’s, Gender & Sexuality Studies major

Laura Merrell: Class of 2015, History & English double major

Hope Nelson: Class of 2018, History & Anthropology double major

Brittany Previte: Class of 2016, English & History double major

Project Leaders

This project was conceived by Gregory Shaya, Department of History at the College of Wooster. It has been directed by a team of faculty in the History Department: Jordan Biro-Walters, Kabria Baumgartner, James Bonk, Madonna Hettinger, Katie Holt, Jeff Roche, Gregory Shaya, and Tara Strauch.

Technical Assistance From

Jon Breitenbucher, Instructional Technology Specialist

Stephen Flynn, Emerging Technologies Librarian

Tammy Troup, Digital Services Associate

Catie Newton, Digital Curation Librarian

Research Support From

Deb Kitko, Genealogy Department in the Wayne County Public Library

Denise Monbarren, Special Collections Library, The College of Wooster

The Wayne County Historical Society

Gwen Short, OARDC Library

With the Assistance of Local Experts, Consultants & Contributors

Ed Abramson, Local Jewish Historian

Betsy Anderson

Emily Deffenbaugh

Mary Eberhart

Jerry Footlick, Trustee of the College of Wooster

James Fox, Court Administrator for Wayne County Court of Common Pleas

The Reverend Kevin Franklin

Sandra Hull, Main Street Wooster

Ann Freedlander Hunt, author of Gone but Not Forgotten

Shelley Judge, Associate Professor of Geology, The College of Wooster

Nicholas Kardulias, Professor of Archaeology, The College of Wooster

Charles Lepold, Chair of the Military Committee of the Wayne County Historical Society

Paul Locher, Reporter, The Daily Record

Matt Mariola, Associate Professor of Environmental Studies, The College of Wooster

Harry McClarran, Wooster historian

Julie Mennes, Wayne County Historical Society

Scott Nesbit, Assistant Professor of Digital Humanities, University of Georgia

Jeremy Rapport, Associate Professor of Religious Studies, The College of Wooster

Roger Rowe, Wayne County Historical Society

Lucille Santangelo

Hayden Schilling, Professor of History, The College of Wooster

Rosella Stinebring

Lydia Thompson

Gregory C. Wiles, Professor of Geology, The College of Wooster

Yvonne Williams

Duane Wood, Wayne County Soil and Water Conservation District

OARDC Visitor Center

Robin Croft

Mark Weaver, Professor of Political Science, The College of Wooster

Thank yous!

This project was made possible by the Mellon Foundation with a grant for interdisciplinary scholarship. Additional support came from The Five Colleges of Ohio Next Generation Libraries Grant and the College of Wooster.